AKC and Hartz Establish Veterinary Technician Scholarship Program

Twenty-nine Veterinary Technician Students Awarded Various Scholarships Totaling $45,000

The American Kennel Club (AKC®) and The Hartz Mountain Corporation, along with the National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America (NAVTA), is pleased to announce the establishment of the AKC/Hartz Veterinary Technician Scholarship Program.

New this year, scholarships were awarded to 29 students from 20 U.S. accredited schools of veterinary technology. These awards include 16 awards of $2,000 each and 13 awards of $1,000 each.

"Since 1991, the AKC has awarded annual scholarships to veterinarian students and we're pleased to expand the program to now include another important member of the veterinary community, the veterinary technician," said Debra Bonnefond, Director of the AKC Veterinary Outreach Program. "Through these scholarships, the AKC continues its ongoing effort to assist the veterinary profession in providing the best possible care for all dogs."

"The Hartz Mountain Corporation recognizes that veterinary technicians play a vital role in veterinary practices, laboratories and other institutions all over the country," said Dr. Albert H. Ahn, Corporate Vice President and Chief Scientific Officer of Hartz. "In many cases, the vet tech represents the lifeline between veterinarians and their patients and clients. Hartz is proud to join the AKC as sponsor of Veterinary Outreach in celebrating and supporting the veterinary technicians of tomorrow."

"NAVTA is pleased that the American Kennel Club and The Hartz Mountain Corporation recognizes the importance of veterinary technicians and the role they have in the veterinary healthcare team. We are fortunate to have partnered with these two fine organizations and pleased to act as a catalyst to bring this opportunity to veterinary technology students," said Patrick Navarre, Executive Director, NAVTA.

To be eligible, candidates must be current, full-time students at an American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) accredited Veterinary Technician school and be a NAVTA student member or a member of a NAVTA Student Chapter. Scholarship recipients are selected on the basis of academic achievement, activities in the small animal, exotics, and research, and activities in NAVTA and SCNAVTA.

Additional information about the scholarships can be found on the AKC Web site at www.akc.org/vetoutreach as well as the NAVTA Web site at www.navta.net.

AKC/Hartz Veterinary Technicians Scholarships 2005

$2,000.00 Awards

  • Elizabeth Barrett – Gwinnett Technical College
  • Sophie Betts – Yuba College
  • Gail Chacon – Portland Community College
  • Mary Duryea – Cosumnes River Collge
  • Tara Fetzer – Northampton Community College
  • Kenneth Garrett – Mount Ida College
  • Rose-Ann Gillespie – Fort Valley State University
  • Kathryn Jaeger – Macomb Community College
  • Christi Kubecki – Blue Ridge Community College
  • Pamela Lindhe – Mount Ida College
  • Sheila Nelson – Northern Virginia College
  • Kristina Nishino – Harcum College
  • Ana Santos – Athens Technical College
  • Senesa Stinebaugh – Fort Range Community College
  • Amy Trombecky – SUNY-Delhi
  • Lindsay Turnball – Mount Ida College

$1,000.00 Awards

  • Lisa Cho – Pierce College
  • Jennifer Danner – Northampton Community College
  • Kelly Foltz – Athens Technical College
  • Stephanie Geisinger – North Dakota State University
  • Lisa Kramer – Jefferson Community College
  • Marsha Kuschel – Macomb Community College
  • Bruce Leung – Mount Ida College
  • Jodi-Lyn Manning – Mount Ida College
  • Sheena Maynard – Brevard Community College
  • Jenna Newton – College of Southern Idaho
  • Christy Noyes – SUNY-Delhi
  • Jennifer Robbins – Mount Ida College
  • Marjory Tackett – Manor College